Progress Always Involves Risk

I am amazed at how parallel things were 7 years ago when I originally wrote this. Once again the Brewers were in first place and did not make it into the playoffs. As to taking risks and moving forward it is just as important today as in 2007 however I have been working with a leadership development company that allows me to dream and take steps forward. I just need to take my foot off the bag and so should you.

Progress always involves risk. You can’t steal second base and keep your foot on first. –Fredrick B. Wilcox

This seemed like a fitting quote as the Brewers finished their first winning season in many years. It has taken them literally years to get where they are, and after almost the entire baseball season in first place did not make the playoffs. The talk is not how badly they did in the end, but the progress that was made in the last year. This is a wonderful example of positive endings for the season.

Progress is the key to realizing dreams and beginning goals. Progress involves risk. Can you remember a time where maybe you risked it all and it failed? Did you feel satisfied for at least trying? It is better to take that risk over and over again and fail than to keep saying what if? What about a time when you took that risk and were successful!

I take a risk every day when I sit at my computer and write. I am dyslexic and I have a difficult time with spelling and editing. I take the risk of making a mistake and having it posted on the internet. I feel I have a message to get out and will take that risk as long as someone hears the messages. At this time I am working on more efficient ways of editing. Trust me when I say spell check does not always work, I say this with a huge smile on my face.

What risk are you willing to take today? How about daring to dream, or making a significant change you having been thinking about? How about starting a goal sheet?

In order to effect change you need to take a step in the right direction, get your foot off the bag, get into the game. Today make a conscious decision to make a change for one new positive thing this week. Remember to live well and to love those around you.

I am reminded of a wonderful quote:

Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring. All of which have the potential to turn a life around.

Leo Buscaglia

Have a blessed day!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on October 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
