Life Lessons on Gratitude and Good deeds

How far that little candle throws his beams!
So shines a good deed in a weary world.

~William Shakespeare

 

Can you be a positive influence on someone else today? Are you the person who always has a smile on your face? Does your candle burn bright or is it a tiny flicker that could burn brighter?

With the topic of thanks this week, I think we need to look within ourselves to see if we have a candle that lights the way for others.

While working with a group of people yesterday I decided since this was Thanksgiving I would request each one talk about what they are thankful for in their lives. I would like to preface this by telling you a little about the group. None of them have jobs, they all have financial difficulties and many have had tremendous struggles and obstacles to overcome.

Each one had many things to be thankful for and many are volunteering in a number of different capacities to give to others who have even less. I am proud of each and every person in this group as I see the hope and gratitude they have,  we could all learn lessons from them. I was humbled and honored as each one spoke. I told them the situation they are in now is temporary and it is not a question of if things will change, it will change, but the lessons they are learning at this time in their lives are valuable to their growth.

I believe what we learn from the most difficult times in our life will help mold us into better people. I can say, and have said this before, I am grateful for the struggles as it has shown me a completely different path in my life. I have had my share of struggles enough to give me credibility. 🙂 I can say I am grateful for the struggles as it has brought me to a better understanding of life, given me a purpose, and most importantly a wonderful relationship with God.

I am not suggesting in any way the only way to grow is through hardship, this is only one of many.

We all need to recognize the people in our lives who have been positive influences and helped with our life journey. Do you have a little candle that is flickering or does it burn bright? Maybe take some time from your day to think of how you can make a difference. It can be anything from donating to a local food pantry to bringing light to an elderly person who is alone. Find an elderly or nursing home and ask for someone who never gets visitors, and become someone’s light for the season. You will never regret it, not even for one second as your light will spread with the example you set!

Susie Austin

~ by coachsusie on November 20, 2007.

One Response to “Life Lessons on Gratitude and Good deeds”

  1. I have come to the conclusion that hardships are a way for us to slow down, and find out what really matters in this life. When you only have a dollar to your name, you tend to b very careful on where you spend it. And, we also seem to be a little kinder to those who help us out.
    PS can I join that group?

Leave a comment